BMW i5
Version: 2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels)price: United States trimschecked
- Electric car
- Sedan
- in production
- Release 2024
$67,100
from · MSRP · United States
328 mi
EPA range
75/100
ScoreWhat is this car?
The BMW i5 is a 5-seat electric sedan. Range: 328 mi EPA for the i5 eDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels). 10-80 %: about 30 min. Price: from $67,100 MSRP for the 2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedan in the United States.
- Battery
- 81.2 kWh
- DC peak
- 205 kW
- Power
- 250 kW
- 0–60 mph
- 5.9 s
- Drive
- RWD
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 17.3 cu ft
- Battery warranty
- 8 years · 100,000 mi
A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
How much does it cost?
Starts at $67,100 MSRP in the United States for the 2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedan.
United States
from$67,100
2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 SedanMSRP US
| Trim | MSRPvs lowest | vs lowest |
|---|---|---|
| 2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedanlowest | $67,100 |
Where it is registered
- In the regulator's register for
- United States · Canada
- In the manufacturer's own catalogue for
- United States · United Kingdom
Other markets (4)
United Kingdom£74,1051
Latest:
- BMW i5 eDrive40 · Market (new) · · may have changed since£74,105
Germany€70,9001
Latest:
- BMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder) · MSRP · · may have changed since€70,900
Market not stated · GBP£74,1051
Latest:
- BMW i5 eDrive40 · Market (new) · · may have changed since£74,105
Market not stated · USD$67,1001
Latest:
- 2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedan · MSRP · $67,100
Who is it for?
Ranking
provisional
- Everyday#25 of 80 in the US75#25 of 80 in the US
- Long range#26 of 80 in the US72#26 of 80 in the US
- Family#33 of 80 in the US76#33 of 80 in the US
Take it if
- you want a long range car
- you drive in the cold - a heat pump is standard (not verified)
Look elsewhere if
- charging matters most to you - its lowest category
What the score is made of
provisional
Everyday score: 3 of 3 categories.
What is the real range?
328 mi on the official EPA test.
328 mi
No winter figure yet
Winter
- On the European WLTP test (our conversion)
- ~377 mi (our estimate)
- Heat pump
- standardBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
How long does it take to charge?
10 minutes of fast charging add about 77 mi.
30 min
10-80 % fast charge
- DC peak power
- 205 kW
- Onboard AC charger
- 11.5 kW
- Charge time (240 V)
- 8 h
- Voltage architecture
- 400 VBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
What does it cost to run?
~$4.95 (our estimate)
Per 100 mi at home
at $0.17/kWh, as of Jun 2026 - your price may differ
- Energy use (published)
- 29 kWh/100 mi
What to compare it with?
Same body type, price within 40 %, nearest in the Everyday ranking.
Compared with rivals
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AI- Price from
- $67,100
- Range
- 328 mi
- 10-80 %
- 30 min
- Score
- 75
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIPhoto author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AITesla Model 3Score77- Price from
- $42,490−$24,610
- Range
- 363 mi +35 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 77
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIBMW i4Score75- Price from
- $55,400−$11,700
- Range
- 333 mi +5 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 75

Photo author and licence
Photo: M 93 / CC BY-SA 3.0 DE / Resized; cropped for displayHyundai Ioniq 6Score75- Price from
- $51,100−$16,000
- Range
- 423 mi
- 10-80 %
- 18 min
- Score
- 75
Which versions are there?
Versions known 13Complete set Not confirmed - more may exist
About this list
- provisional: we know the version exists, its full specification is not sourced yet - listed, not dropped
named version2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels)
not verified yet
| Version | Drive | Range | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| i5 eDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels)provisional | RWD | 328miEPA | - |
| i5 eDrive40 Sedan (20 inch Wheels)provisional | RWD | 299miEPA | - |
| i5 eDrive40 Sedan (21 inch Wheels)provisional | RWD | 280miEPA | - |
| i5 M60 xDrive Sedan (19 inch Wheels)provisional | AWD | 277miEPA | 442kW |
| i5 M60 xDrive Sedan (20 inch Wheels)provisional | AWD | 266miEPA | 442kW |
| i5 M60 xDrive Sedan (21 inch Wheels)provisional | AWD | 259miEPA | 442kW |
| i5 xDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels)provisional | AWD | 283miEPA | - |
| i5 xDrive40 Sedan (20 inch Wheels)provisional | AWD | 273miEPA | 290kW |
| i5 xDrive40 Sedan (21 inch Wheels)provisional | AWD | 262miEPA | - |
| BMW i5 eDrive40 M Sport Pro Saloonprovisional | RWD | - | 250kW |
| BMW i5 eDrive40 M Sport Saloonprovisional | RWD | - | 250kW |
| BMW i5 eDrive40 Sport Edition Saloonprovisional | RWD | - | 250kW |
| BMW i5 M60 xDrive Saloonprovisional | AWD | - | 442kW |
Full specs
Version on this page: “2027 BMW i5 eDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels)”. A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
Model and powertrain
- Powertrain
- Electric (BEV)
- Body
- Sedan
- Drive
- RWD
Range, battery and efficiency
- 328 mi
- Range (city)
- 338 mi EPA
- Range (highway)
- 317 mi EPA
- Chemistry
- NMCBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Efficiency
- 29.1 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (city)
- 28.2 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (highway)
- 29.8 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (real)
- 30.7 kWh/100 miBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Battery (gross or net not stated)
- 81.2 kWh
Charging and energy features
- DC charging peak
- 205 kW
- Charge 10–80%
- 30 min
- Charge time (240 V)
- 8 h
- Voltage architecture
- 400 VBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Heat pump
- StandardBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- AC charging peak
- 11.5 kW
- Charging peak (real)
- 208 kWBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Charge 10–80% (real)
- 30 minBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
Performance
- Power (kW)
- 250 kW
- Top speed
- 155 mph
- Torque
- 295 lb-ft (400 Nm)
- 0–62 mph
- 6 sBMW i5 eDrive40 Sport Edition Saloon
- 0–60 mph
- 5.9 s
Dimensions and practicality
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 17.3 cu ft
- Ground clearance
- 5.7 inBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Length
- 199.2 in
- Width
- 84.9 in
- Height
- 59.3 in
- Wheelbase
- 117.9 in
- Weight
- 4,839 lbBMW i5 eDrive40 M Sport Pro Saloon
Comfort and connectivity
- Heated seats
- Standard
- Heated steering wheel
- StandardBMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Apple CarPlay
- Standard
- Android Auto
- Standard
Safety and warranty
- Airbags
- 7BMW i5 eDrive40 Limousine (19 Zoll Räder)
- Crash-test stars (NCAP safety rating)
- 5
- Battery warranty (years)
- 8 years
- Battery warranty (distance)
- 100,000 mi
Not found yet (6)
| Field | Why | Searched |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Charge port | the manufacturer does not publish it | - |
| Frunk | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Range (real) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Range (winter) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Power out to devices (V2L) | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
Can I trust these numbers?
No ranking input of this car has a second source yet. A tick means the figure was re-read on its own source page; the score rests on single-source inputs.
Where does this data come from?
Last verified
6 primary sources
19 sources · one row per site
- fueleconomy.gov32 recordsregulator, review · primaryNov 4, 2026
- press.bmwgroup.com3 recordsOEM, review · primaryOct 23, 2026
- bmwusa.com2 recordsOEM, review · primaryNov 4, 2026
and 16 more
- bmw.co.uk1 recordOEM · primaryAug 7, 2026
- bmw.com1 recordOEM · primaryMay 19, 2026
- open.canada.ca1 recordregulator · primaryAug 13, 2026
- bmw.de5 recordsreview · secondaryOct 4, 2026
- adac.de1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- allesauto.at1 recordreview · secondarySep 20, 2026
- assets.adac.de1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- bmw.co.jp1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- caranddriver.com1 recordreview · secondaryNov 4, 2026
- carsales.com.au1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- configure.bmw.de1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- euroncap.com1 recordreview · secondaryNov 4, 2026
- greencarscompare.com1 recordreview · secondaryOct 8, 2026
- mobil.tv2.no1 recordnews · secondaryMay 19, 2026
- naf.no1 recordnews · secondaryMay 19, 2026
- nybiltester.no1 recordnews · secondaryMay 19, 2026
Every source link (57)
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48321primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46925primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50194primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48322primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.bmw.com/en/all-models/bmw-i/i5/bmw-i5-overview.htmlprimary · OEM · May 19, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46926primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48323primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50363primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://open.canada.ca/data/dataset/98f1a129-f628-4ce4-b24d-6f16bf24dd64/resource/026e45b4-eb63-451f-b34f-d9308ea3a3d9/download/my2012-2026-battery-electric-vehicles.csvprimary · regulator · Aug 13, 2026
- https://www.bmw.co.uk/en/all-models/bmw-i/i5/bmw-i5-technical-data.htmlprimary · OEM · Aug 7, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46928primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50361primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49617primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46923primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48318primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49616primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48316primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50195primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50603primary · regulator · Aug 9, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48324primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46927primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50364primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49613primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48317primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50196primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.bmwusa.com/vehicles/bmw-i-series/i5/bmw-i5-overview.htmlprimary · OEM · Jun 3, 2026
- https://www.press.bmwgroup.com/united-kingdom/article/detail/T0418899EN_GB/the-new-bmw-5-series-saloon?language=en_GBprimary · OEM · Oct 23, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49614primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49618primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49615primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46924primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48320primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/epadata/vehicles.csvprimary · regulator · Aug 2, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50362primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48319primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=50360primary · regulator · Jun 10, 2026
- https://www.bmw.de/de/mehr-bmw/connected-drive/android-auto.htmlsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.caranddriver.com/bmw/i5/specs/2027/bmw_i5_bmw-i5-edrive40_2027secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://mobil.tv2.no/broom/disse-imponerte-mest-i-rekkeviddetesten/16425310/secondary · news · May 19, 2026
- https://www.carsales.com.au/research/bmw/i5/2026/edrive40-m-sport/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.press.bmwgroup.com/usa/article/detail/T0418778EN_US/the-all-new-2024-bmw-5-seriessecondary · review · Sep 20, 2026
- https://configure.bmw.de/de_DE/configure/G60E/61HG/FKSJX,P0C4,S0230,S0248,S02PA,S02VB,S0302,S0316,S0322,S0337,S03GV,S03M1,S0402,S0420,S0428,S043R,S0453,S0459,S0488,S04A2,S04FL,S04HA,S04NB,S04NR,S04T2,S04T3,S04U6,S04U9,S04UR,S04V1,S0548,S0552,S05AU,S05DW,S0654,S06AE,S06AF,S06AK,S06C4,S06NX,S06PA,S06U3,S06U7,S0704,S0710,S0760,S0775,S07EW,S07LK,S07VB,S0801,S0851,S0879,S08R3,S08R9,S08TF,S08WN,S09T1,S09T2,CTRLLIGHTSONsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.bmw.de/de/mehr-bmw/connected-drive/apple-carplay.htmlsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.bmw.de/de/neufahrzeuge/bmw-i/i5/bmw-i5-ueberblick.htmlsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.bmw.de/de/topics/neuwagen/gewaehrleistung.htmlsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.adac.de/rund-ums-fahrzeug/autokatalog/marken-modelle/bmw/i5/g60-g61/328670/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://nybiltester.no/biltest/test-av-bmw-i5-edrive40/secondary · news · May 19, 2026
- https://www.press.bmwgroup.com/global/article/detail/T0419062EN/the-first-ever-bmw-i5-the-new-bmw-5-series-sedan?language=ensecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.bmwusa.com/vehicles/bmw-i-series/i5/bmw-i5-technical-data.htmlsecondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.allesauto.at/test-bmw-i5-edrive40/secondary · review · Sep 20, 2026
- https://greencarscompare.com/car/bmw-i5-edrive40-2025/charging/secondary · review · Oct 8, 2026
- https://www.euroncap.com/assessments/bmw/5+series/1032/secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/ws/rest/vehicle/50360secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.bmw.co.jp/ja/press/2024/20240801.htmlsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://assets.adac.de/image/upload/Autodatenbank/Autotest/at6398-bmw-i5-edrive40/bmw-i5-edrive40.pdfsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.bmw.de/content/dam/bmw/marketDE/bmw_de/new-vehicles/pricelists/preisliste-bmw5er2026.pdf.coredownload.pdfsecondary · review · Oct 4, 2026
- https://www.naf.no/elbil/elprix-nytt/el-prix-bilene-vintertest-2024secondary · news · May 19, 2026
How to read the marks
- confirmed on its source page
- not verified yet
Every figure opens its source and date from its mark. Conflicting figures are shown, never averaged; an empty cell means nothing was found, not zero. Prices are listed as published, never converted between currencies.
Copy this data
Where next
Compare two models
Side by side, every figure with its source





