Volvo EX40
Version: 2026 Volvo EX40price: United States trimschecked
- Electric car
- SUV
- in production
- Release 2020
$56,545
from · MSRP · United States
296 mi
EPA range
68/100
ScoreWhat is this car?
The Volvo EX40 is a 5-seat electric SUV rated 296 mi EPA that charges 10-80 % in about 28 min and starts at $56,545 MSRP for the Single Motor Extended Range in the United States.
- Battery
- 75 kWhSingle Motor Extended Range
- DC peak
- 140 kWSingle Motor Extended Range
- Power
- 185 kW
- 0–60 mph
- 4.6 sTwin Motor
- Drive
- RWD
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 14.5 cu ft
- Battery warranty
- 8 years · 100,000 mi
A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
How much does it cost?
Starts at $56,545 MSRP in the United States for the Single Motor Extended Range; the Twin Motor is $58,295.
United States
from$56,545
Single Motor Extended RangeMSRP US
| Trim | MSRPvs lowest | vs lowest |
|---|---|---|
| Single Motor Extended Rangelowest | $56,545 | |
| Twin Motor | $58,295+$1,750 | +$1,750 |
Older listings may have changed since the date shown.
Where it is registered
- In the regulator's register for
- United States · Canada · European Union · United Kingdom
- In the manufacturer's own catalogue for
- United States · Argentina · Australia · Austria · Kuwait · United Kingdom
Other markets (8)
United Kingdom£42,360 - £52,81016
Latest:
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since£42,360
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,860
- Twin Motor Performance · Market (new) · · may have changed since£52,810
- EX40 Core · Market (new) · · may have changed since£42,360
- EX40 Plus · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- EX40 Plus Pro · Market (new) · · may have changed since£46,860
- EX40 Ultra · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,360
- EX40 Core · MSRP · · may have changed since£42,360
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since£42,360
- EX40 Plus · MSRP · · may have changed since£44,860
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- EX40 Plus Pro · MSRP · · may have changed since£46,860
- EX40 Ultra · MSRP · · may have changed since£50,360
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,860
- Twin Motor Performance · Market (new) · · may have changed since£52,810
AustraliaA$69,9901
Latest:
- Single Motor Extended Range · MSRP · A$69,990
Market not stated · Currency not statedcurrency not stated15
Latest:
- Single Motor · MSRP · · may have changed since43,990 Currency not stated
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since45,955 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since47,705 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range · MSRP · · may have changed since50,490 Currency not stated
- Twin Motor · MSRP · · may have changed since55,790 Currency not stated
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since57,805 Currency not stated
- Twin Motor Performance · MSRP · · may have changed since60,490 Currency not stated
- EX40 Core, Single Motor Extended Range, Electric (2027) · Market (new) · · may have changed since39,610 Currency not stated
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since45,955 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since47,705 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range Core · Market (new) · · may have changed since47,705 Currency not stated
- EX40 Plus, Twin Motor, Electric · Market (new) · · may have changed since50,860 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range Plus · Market (new) · · may have changed since54,305 Currency not stated
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since57,805 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range Ultra · Market (new) · · may have changed since58,355 Currency not stated
Market not stated · AUDA$69,9901
Latest:
- Single Motor Extended Range · MSRP · A$69,990
Market not stated · EUR€44,590 - €60,2904
Latest:
- P5 Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€44,590
- P5 Long Range Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€50,490
- P8 AWD Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€56,590
- P8 Performance AWD Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€60,290
Market not stated · GBP£42,360 - £52,81017
Latest:
- EX40 Plus, Twin Motor, Electric · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,860
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since£42,360
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,860
- Twin Motor Performance · Market (new) · · may have changed since£52,810
- EX40 Core · MSRP · · may have changed since£42,360
- EX40 Core · Market (new) · · may have changed since£42,360
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since£42,360
- EX40 Plus · MSRP · · may have changed since£44,860
- EX40 Plus · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- EX40 Plus Pro · MSRP · · may have changed since£46,860
- EX40 Plus Pro · Market (new) · · may have changed since£46,860
- EX40 Ultra · MSRP · · may have changed since£50,360
- EX40 Ultra · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,360
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,860
- Twin Motor Performance · Market (new) · · may have changed since£52,810
Market not stated · USD$56,545 - $58,2952
Latest:
- Single Motor Extended Range · MSRP · · may have changed since$56,545
- Twin Motor · MSRP · · may have changed since$58,295
SwedenSEK 609,9001
Latest:
- Twin Motor Performance Electric · MSRP · · may have changed sinceSEK 609,900
Who is it for?
Ranking
provisional
- Everyday#46 of 80 in the US68#46 of 80 in the US
- Long range#43 of 80 in the US65#43 of 80 in the US
- Family#56 of 80 in the US67#56 of 80 in the US
All rankings (4)
- 77#16 of 49 in the US
Take it if
- you drive in the cold - a heat pump is standard
Look elsewhere if
- charging matters most to you - its weakest category
- you want a family car
What the score is made of
provisional
Everyday score: 3 of 3 categories.
What is the real range?
296 mi on the official EPA test.
296 mi
No winter figure yet
Winter
- 343 miSingle Motor Extended Range
- On the European WLTP test (our conversion)
- ~341 mi (our estimate)
- Heat pump
- standard
How long does it take to charge?
10 minutes of fast charging add about 74 mi.
28 min
10-80 % fast charge
- DC peak power
- 140 kWSingle Motor Extended Range
- Onboard AC charger
- 11 kW
- Charge time (240 V)
- 8 h
- Voltage architecture
- 400 VTwin Motor Performance Electric
What does it cost to run?
~$5.39 (our estimate)
Per 100 mi at home
at $0.17/kWh, as of Jun 2026 - your price may differ
- Energy use (published)
- 32 kWh/100 mi
What to compare it with?
Same body type, price within 40 %, nearest in the Everyday ranking.
Compared with rivals

Photo author and licence
Photo: Matti Blume / CC BY-SA 4.0 / Resized; cropped for display- Price from
- $56,545
- Range
- 296 mi
- 10-80 %
- 28 min
- Score
- 68
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIPhoto author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIRivian R1SScore80- Price from
- $75,900+$19,355
- Range
- 410 mi +114 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 80

Photo author and licence
Photo: Damian B Oh / CC BY-SA 4.0 / Resized; cropped for displayGenesis GV60Score78- Price from
- $46,250−$10,295
- Range
- 349 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 78
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AITesla Model YScore76- Price from
- $48,990−$7,555
- Range
- 321 mi +25 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 76
Which versions are there?
Versions known 10Complete set Not confirmed - more may exist
About this list
- provisional: we know the version exists, its full specification is not sourced yet - listed, not dropped
named version2026 Volvo EX40
| Version | Drive | Battery | Range | Power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single Motor Extended Range | RWD | 75kWh | 343miWLTP | 325kW |
| XC40 Recharge twinprovisional | AWD | - | 254miEPA | 300kW |
| XC40 Rechargeprovisional | RWD | - | 293miEPA | 185kW |
| EX40 Twinprovisional | AWD | - | 260miEPA | 300kW |
| EX40provisional | RWD | - | 296miEPA | 185kW |
| Core, Single Motor Extended Rangeprovisional | RWD | - | - | - |
| P5 Elektrischprovisional | RWD | - | 296miWLTP | 175kW |
| P8 AWD Elektrischprovisional | AWD | - | 334miWLTP | 300kW |
| Plus, Twin Motorprovisional | AWD | - | - | - |
| Single Motorprovisional | RWD | - | 295miWLTP | 175kW |
Full specs
Version on this page: “2026 Volvo EX40”. A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
Model and powertrain
- Powertrain
- Electric (BEV)
- Body
- SUV
- Drive
- RWD
Range, battery and efficiency
- Range (WLTP)
- 343 miSingle Motor Extended Range
- 296 mi
- Range (city)
- 326 mi EPAEPA
- Range (highway)
- 260 mi EPAEPA
- Battery
- 75 kWhSingle Motor Extended Range
- Battery (gross)
- 82 kWhTwin Motor Performance
- Chemistry
- NMC
- Efficiency
- 31.7 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (city)
- 28.5 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (highway)
- 35.7 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (real)
- 45.1 kWh/100 miTwin Motor Performance Electric
- Battery (gross or net not stated)
- 79 kWh
Charging and energy features
- DC charging peak
- 140 kWSingle Motor Extended Range
- Charge 10–80%
- 28 min
- Charge time (240 V)
- 8 h
- Voltage architecture
- 400 VTwin Motor Performance Electric
- Heat pump
- Standard
- AC charging peak
- 11 kW
Performance
- Power
- 248 hpSingle Motor Extended Range
- Power (kW)
- 185 kW
- Top speed
- 112 mphEX40 Core, Single Motor Extended Range, Electric (2027)
- Torque
- 310 lb-ft (420 Nm)
- 0–62 mph
- 4.6 sTwin Motor Performance
- 0–60 mph
- 4.6 sTwin Motor
Dimensions and practicality
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 14.5 cu ft
- Frunk
- 1.1 cu ft
- Ground clearance
- 6.9 inTwin Motor Performance Electric
- Length
- 174.8 in
- Width
- 80.1 in
- Height
- 64.8 in
- Wheelbase
- 106.4 in
- Weight
- 4,784 lbEX40 Plus, Twin Motor, Electric
Comfort and connectivity
- Heated seats
- Standard
- Heated steering wheel
- Standard
- Apple CarPlay
- Standard
- Android Auto
- Standard
Safety and warranty
- Airbags
- 7
- Crash-test stars (NCAP safety rating)
- 5Twin Motor Performance Electric
- Battery warranty (years)
- 8 years
- Battery warranty (distance)
- 100,000 mi
Not found yet (6)
| Field | Why | Searched |
|---|---|---|
| Charge port | the manufacturer does not publish it | - |
| Charge 10–80% (real) | published for another version only | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Charging peak (real) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Range (real) | published for another version only | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Range (winter) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Power out to devices (V2L) | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
Can I trust these numbers?
No ranking input of this car has a second source yet. A tick means the figure was re-read on its own source page; the score rests on single-source inputs.
Where does this data come from?
Last verified
5 primary sources
12 sources · one row per site
- volvocars.com24 recordsOEM, review · primaryNov 4, 2026
- fueleconomy.gov10 recordsregulator, review · primaryNov 4, 2026
- open.canada.ca2 recordsregulator · primaryAug 13, 2026
and 9 more
- carfueldata.vehicle-certification-agency.gov.uk1 recordregulator · primaryAug 14, 2026
- discodata.eea.europa.eu1 recordregulator · primaryAug 12, 2026
- caranddriver.com2 recordsreview · secondaryNov 4, 2026
- carwow.de1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- euroncap.com1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- motortrend.com1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- techniknews.net1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- zecar.com1 recordreview · secondaryOct 23, 2026
- gunthervolvo.com1 recordaggregator · tertiaryMay 16, 2026
Every source link (46)
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/shop/ex40-electric/primary · OEM · Aug 10, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/cars/ex40-electric/primary · OEM · Aug 9, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/?sourceapplicationinformation=uk_rng_cat_nplprimary · OEM · Aug 9, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/build/print?token=10947778097016391696primary · OEM · Aug 10, 2026
- https://open.canada.ca/data/dataset/98f1a129-f628-4ce4-b24d-6f16bf24dd64/resource/026e45b4-eb63-451f-b34f-d9308ea3a3d9/download/my2012-2026-battery-electric-vehicles.csvprimary · regulator · Aug 13, 2026
- https://open.canada.ca/data/en/dataset/913f8940-036a-45f2-a5f2-19bde76c1252/resource/2b7d2ab2-c50a-4c92-b83c-e9bc05f8b758primary · regulator · Jul 27, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/media/press-releases/715DA0886E414055/primary · OEM · Aug 9, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/se/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/primary · OEM · Oct 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/build/print?token=13140106869183303549primary · OEM · Aug 10, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49749primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46983primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49747primary · regulator · Jun 10, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/us/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/primary · OEM · May 16, 2026
- https://carfueldata.vehicle-certification-agency.gov.uk/downloads/create_latest_data_csv.asp?id=6primary · regulator · Aug 14, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46981primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/primary · OEM · Aug 8, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/images/v/-/media/market-assets/UK/Applications/DotCom/Documents/Shop/Pricelists/Volvo-EX40-pricelist.pdfprimary · OEM · Aug 9, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/au/build/ex40-electric/primary · OEM · Oct 23, 2026
- https://discodata.eea.europa.eu/sql?query=SELECT%20Mk%2C%20Cn%2C%20%5BEp%20(KW)%5D%2C%20%5BM%20(kg)%5D%2C%20%5BZ%20(Wh%2Fkm)%5D%2C%20Zr%2C%20SUM(R)%20AS%20registrations%20FROM%20%5BCO2Emission%5D.%5Blatest%5D.%5Bco2cars_2024Pv29%5D%20WHERE%20Ft%3D'electric'%20AND%20Mk%3D'VOLVO'%20AND%20Cn%3D'EX40'%20GROUP%20BY%20Mk%2C%20Cn%2C%20%5BEp%20(KW)%5D%2C%20%5BM%20(kg)%5D%2C%20%5BZ%20(Wh%2Fkm)%5D%2C%20Zrprimary · regulator · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/epadata/vehicles.csvprimary · regulator · Aug 2, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48451primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=45761primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=44450primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48447primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ex40-electric/features/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ex40-electric/interior-design/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.motortrend.com/reviews/2025-volvo-ex40-twin-motor-first-test-review/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/lb/support/car/ex40/article/47d2c97fd33effd3c0a8cc3718c999b7-bbd2d0ead3267338c0a8cc37502ab65b-8664b2fa77a7e089c0a8296870d1a409/secondary · review · Oct 23, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/at/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/images/cs/v3/assets/blt84e01a6904dbd2e8/blt8e29e4c783d3ecc5/681332dd3fb32f44da715297/EX40_Model_Year_25.5.pdf?branch=prod_aliassecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.techniknews.net/en/tests/volvo-ex40-twin-motor-performance-im-wintertest-allrad-fahrspass-mit-reichweitenverlust/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.caranddriver.com/volvo/ex40/specs/2026/volvo_volvo-xc40-recharge_volvo-ex40_2026/472886secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/ws/rest/vehicle/49747secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/en-ca/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://zecar.com/electric-vehicles/volvo/ex40/2024/ultra-twin-motor-performancesecondary · review · Oct 23, 2026
- https://www.euroncap.com/assessments/volvo/xc40/0725/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ex40-electric/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/files/cs/v3/assets/blt84e01a6904dbd2e8/bltde29ed18c2b805bb/67adc56eab366c30292b1a3f/Volvo_EX40_Black_Edition_brochure_20240701-2.pdf?branch=prod_aliassecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/images/v/-/media/market-assets/belgium/applications/local-pages/pricelists/20240501/Prijslijst_EX40_Fully_Electric_MY25_BEnl_300424_V02.pdfsecondary · review · Sep 20, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/us/cars/ex40-electric/secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/au/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar/cars/ex40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.caranddriver.com/volvo/ex40secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.carwow.de/volvo/ex40/technische-datensecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.gunthervolvo.com/volvo-ex40-electric-specs.htmtertiary · aggregator · May 16, 2026
How to read the marks
- confirmed on its source page
- not verified yet
Every figure opens its source and date from its mark. Conflicting figures are shown, never averaged; an empty cell means nothing was found, not zero. Prices are listed as published, never converted between currencies.
Copy this data
Where next
Compare two models
Side by side, every figure with its source










