Volvo EC40
Version: 2026 Volvo EC40checked
- Electric car
- SUV
- in production
- Release 2022
298 mi
EPA range
67/100
ScoreWhat is this car?
The Volvo EC40 is a 5-seat electric SUV rated 298 mi EPA that charges 10-80 % in about 28 min.
- Battery
- 82 kWh
- DC peak
- 200 kW
- Power
- 185 kW
- 0–60 mph
- 6.9 s
- Drive
- RWD
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 14.3 cu ft
- Battery warranty
- 8 years · 160,000 km
A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
How much does it cost?
Starts at £44,860 Market (new) in the United Kingdom for the Single Motor; the Twin Motor Performance is £52,810.
No US listing yet - prices in the United Kingdom.
United Kingdom
from£44,860
Single MotorMarket (new) GB
| Trim | Market (new)vs lowest | vs lowest |
|---|---|---|
| Single Motorlowest | £44,860 | |
| Single Motor Extended Range | £46,860+£2,000 | +£2,000 |
| Twin Motor | £50,860+£6,000 | +£6,000 |
| Twin Motor Performance | £52,810+£7,950 | +£7,950 |
Older listings may have changed since the date shown.
Where it is registered
- In the regulator's register for
- United States · Canada · European Union · United Kingdom
- In the manufacturer's own catalogue for
- Argentina · Austria · Kuwait · Malta · United Kingdom
Other markets (4)
Germany€61,1901
Latest:
- Twin Motor · MSRP · · may have changed since€61,190
Market not stated · Currency not statedcurrency not stated4
Latest:
- Single Motor · MSRP · · may have changed since50,690 Currency not stated
- Single Motor Extended Range · MSRP · · may have changed since56,590 Currency not stated
- Twin Motor · MSRP · · may have changed since60,190 Currency not stated
- Twin Motor Performance · MSRP · · may have changed since64,490 Currency not stated
Market not stated · EUR€48,690 - €61,2904
Latest:
- P5 Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€48,690
- P5 Long Range Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€54,390
- P8 AWD Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€57,990
- P8 Performance AWD Elektrisch · MSRP · · may have changed since€61,290
Market not stated · GBP£44,860 - £52,8104
Latest:
- Single Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£44,860
- Single Motor Extended Range · Market (new) · · may have changed since£46,860
- Twin Motor · Market (new) · · may have changed since£50,860
- Twin Motor Performance · Market (new) · · may have changed since£52,810
Who is it for?
Ranking
provisional
- Everyday#50 of 80 in the US67#50 of 80 in the US
- Long range#45 of 80 in the US65#45 of 80 in the US
- Family#59 of 80 in the US67#59 of 80 in the US
All rankings (4)
- 62#37 of 49 in the US
Take it if
- No category stands out on this version's data yet.
Look elsewhere if
- charging matters most to you - its weakest category
- you want a performance car
What the score is made of
provisional
Everyday score: 3 of 3 categories.
What is the real range?
298 mi on the official EPA test.
298 mi
No winter figure yet
Winter
- 358 miSingle Motor Extended Range
- On the European WLTP test (our conversion)
- ~343 mi (our estimate)
How long does it take to charge?
10 minutes of fast charging add about 75 mi.
28 min
10-80 % fast charge
- DC peak power
- 200 kW
- Onboard AC charger
- 11 kW
- Charge time (240 V)
- 8 h
- Voltage architecture
- 400 VTwin Motor
What does it cost to run?
~$5.39 (our estimate)
Per 100 mi at home
at $0.17/kWh, as of Jun 2026 - your price may differ
- Energy use (published)
- 32 kWh/100 mi
What to compare it with?
Same body type, nearest in the Everyday ranking.
Compared with rivals
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AI- Price from
- no data
- Range
- 298 mi
- 10-80 %
- 28 min
- Score
- 67

Photo author and licence
Photo: Damian B Oh / CC BY-SA 4.0 / Resized; cropped for displayGenesis GV60Score78- Price from
- Range
- 349 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 78
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIBMW iXScore77- Price from
- Range
- 364 mi +66 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 77
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIGMC Hummer EV SUVScore76- Price from
- Range
- 314 mi +16 mi
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 76
Which versions are there?
Versions known 10Complete set Not confirmed - more may exist
About this list
- provisional: we know the version exists, its full specification is not sourced yet - listed, not dropped
named version2026 Volvo EC40
not verified yet
| Version | Drive | Range | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| C40 Recharge twinprovisional | AWD | 257miEPA | 300kW |
| C40 Rechargeprovisional | RWD | 297miEPA | 185kW |
| EC40 Twinprovisional | AWD | 268miEPA | 300kW |
| EC40provisional | RWD | 298miEPA | 185kW |
| P5 Elektrischprovisional | RWD | 302miWLTP | 175kW |
| P8 AWD Elektrischprovisional | AWD | 341miWLTP | 300kW |
| Single Motorprovisional | RWD | 300miWLTP | 175kW |
| Single Motor Extended Rangeprovisional | RWD | 358miWLTP | 185kW |
| Twin Motorprovisional | AWD | 339miWLTP | 300kW |
| Twin Motor Performanceprovisional | AWD | 336miWLTP | 325kW |
Full specs
Version on this page: “2026 Volvo EC40”. A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
Model and powertrain
- Powertrain
- Electric (BEV)
- Body
- SUV
- Drive
- RWD
Range, battery and efficiency
- Range (WLTP)
- 358 miSingle Motor Extended Range
- 298 mi
- Range (city)
- 326 mi EPAEPA
- Range (highway)
- 264 mi EPAEPA
- Battery (gross)
- 82 kWh
- Efficiency
- 31.7 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (city)
- 28.7 kWh/100 mi EPA
- Efficiency (highway)
- 35.4 kWh/100 mi EPA
Charging and energy features
- DC charging peak
- 200 kW
- Charge 10–80%
- 28 min
- Charge time (240 V)
- 8 h
- Voltage architecture
- 400 VTwin Motor
- AC charging peak
- 11 kW
Performance
- Power
- 252 hpSingle Motor Extended Range
- Power (kW)
- 185 kW
- Top speed
- 112 mph
- Torque
- 310 lb-ft (420 Nm)
- 0–62 mph
- 7.3 sSingle Motor Extended Range
- 0–60 mph
- 6.9 s
Dimensions and practicality
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 14.3 cu ft
- Frunk
- 1.1 cu ft
- Ground clearance
- 6.9 in
- Length
- 174.8 in
- Width
- 76.3 in
- Height
- 62.6 in
- Wheelbase
- 106.4 in
- Weight
- 4,619 lbSingle Motor Extended Range
Comfort and connectivity
- Heated seats
- Standard
- Apple CarPlay
- StandardTwin Motor
- Android Auto
- StandardTwin Motor
Safety and warranty
- Crash-test stars (NCAP safety rating)
- 5
- Battery warranty (years)
- 8 years
- Battery warranty (distance)
- 160,000 km
Not found yet (13)
| Field | Why | Searched |
|---|---|---|
| Chemistry | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Charge port | the manufacturer does not publish it | - |
| Heat pump | published for another version only | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Airbags | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Charge 10–80% (real) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Charging peak (real) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| charging port | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Efficiency (real) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Heated steering wheel | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Range (real) | published for another version only | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Range (winter) | not tested | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Vehicle-to-load (V2L) | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
| Power out to devices (V2L) | the manufacturer does not publish it | Nov 4, 2026 |
Can I trust these numbers?
No ranking input of this car has a second source yet. A tick means the figure was re-read on its own source page; the score rests on single-source inputs.
Where does this data come from?
Last verified
5 primary sources
16 sources · one row per site
- volvocars.com18 recordsOEM, review · primaryNov 4, 2026
- fueleconomy.gov10 recordsregulator, review · primaryNov 4, 2026
- discodata.eea.europa.eu2 recordsregulator · primaryAug 30, 2026
and 13 more
- open.canada.ca2 recordsregulator · primaryAug 13, 2026
- carfueldata.vehicle-certification-agency.gov.uk1 recordregulator · primaryAug 14, 2026
- ancap.com.au1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- autoweek.nl1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- caranddriver.com1 recordreview · secondaryNov 4, 2026
- chip.pl1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- euroncap.com1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- greencarscompare.com1 recordreview · secondaryOct 23, 2026
- motoreport.de1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- thairath.co.th1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- topgear.com1 recordreview · secondaryMay 16, 2026
- volvocarssouthyarra.com.au1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- volvoclub.org.uk1 recordreview · secondarySep 27, 2026
Every source link (44)
- https://discodata.eea.europa.eu/sql?query=SELECT%20Mk%2C%20Cn%2C%20%5BEp%20(KW)%5D%2C%20%5BM%20(kg)%5D%2C%20%5BZ%20(Wh%2Fkm)%5D%2C%20Zr%2C%20SUM(R)%20AS%20registrations%20FROM%20%5BCO2Emission%5D.%5Blatest%5D.%5Bco2cars_2024Pv29%5D%20WHERE%20Ft%3D'electric'%20AND%20Mk%3D'VOLVO'%20AND%20Cn%3D'C40'%20GROUP%20BY%20Mk%2C%20Cn%2C%20%5BEp%20(KW)%5D%2C%20%5BM%20(kg)%5D%2C%20%5BZ%20(Wh%2Fkm)%5D%2C%20Zrprimary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49750primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/uk/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/primary · OEM · Aug 8, 2026
- https://open.canada.ca/data/dataset/98f1a129-f628-4ce4-b24d-6f16bf24dd64/resource/026e45b4-eb63-451f-b34f-d9308ea3a3d9/download/my2012-2026-battery-electric-vehicles.csvprimary · regulator · Aug 13, 2026
- https://open.canada.ca/data/en/dataset/913f8940-036a-45f2-a5f2-19bde76c1252/resource/2b7d2ab2-c50a-4c92-b83c-e9bc05f8b758primary · regulator · Jul 27, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=44929primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46982primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=45760primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://carfueldata.vehicle-certification-agency.gov.uk/downloads/create_latest_data_csv.asp?id=6primary · regulator · Aug 14, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=46980primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://discodata.eea.europa.eu/sql?query=SELECT%20Mk%2C%20Cn%2C%20%5BEp%20(KW)%5D%2C%20%5BM%20(kg)%5D%2C%20%5BZ%20(Wh%2Fkm)%5D%2C%20Zr%2C%20SUM(R)%20AS%20registrations%20FROM%20%5BCO2Emission%5D.%5Blatest%5D.%5Bco2cars_2024Pv29%5D%20WHERE%20Ft%3D'electric'%20AND%20Mk%3D'VOLVO'%20AND%20Cn%3D'EC40'%20GROUP%20BY%20Mk%2C%20Cn%2C%20%5BEp%20(KW)%5D%2C%20%5BM%20(kg)%5D%2C%20%5BZ%20(Wh%2Fkm)%5D%2C%20Zrprimary · regulator · Aug 30, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48446primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=49748primary · regulator · Jun 10, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/epadata/vehicles.csvprimary · regulator · Aug 2, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/Find.do?action=sbs&id=48448primary · regulator · Jul 26, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/mt/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/primary · OEM · Jun 17, 2026
- https://www.euroncap.com/assessments/volvo/c40-recharge/0957/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.chip.pl/2022/07/volvo-c40-recharge-twin-motor-test-recenzjasecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvoclub.org.uk/pdf/ec40/ec40-2025-specs.pdfsecondary · review · Sep 27, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ec40-electric/features/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://volvocarssouthyarra.com.au/cars/volvo-c40recharge/specifications/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/en-ca/support/car/ec40/article/0ed816eed33d98cac0a8cc377bc12bc7-e6a7973b2bf222b2c0a8b09757c97ec8-8664b2fa77a7e089c0a8296870d1a409/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.thairath.co.th/news/auto/testdrive/2669981secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/de/media/press-releases/58784B0088A0D2C4/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/de/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/volvo/ec40secondary · review · May 16, 2026
- https://greencarscompare.com/car/volvo-c40-recharge-twin-motor/secondary · review · Oct 23, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ec40-electric/interior-design/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/images/cs/v3/assets/bltccbab8edae0354cd/blt79f8a67d798c8d78/68befcffe94f786661a1f43a/MY2026_WTY572.06.25_Fully_Elec_Wty_Manual_Rev2_WEB_06-18-25.pdf?branch=prod_aliassecondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.ancap.com.au/safety-ratings/volvo/c40-recharge/fcf71fsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.caranddriver.com/volvo/ex40/specs/2026/volvo_volvo-xc40-recharge_volvo-ex40_2026/472886secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar-kw/cars/ec40-electric/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.motoreport.de/langstrecke-volvo-c40-test/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/at/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.fueleconomy.gov/ws/rest/vehicle/49748secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/tr/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/secondary · review · Sep 20, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/us/cars/ex40-electric/secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/images/cs/v3/assets/blt84e01a6904dbd2e8/blt50066375fe166fcf/66ed15da579451322599812a/Volvo_EC40_Fully_Electric_Typ_X_2024_BEV.pdf?branch=prod_aliassecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.autoweek.nl/auto/103578/volvo-c40-recharge-twin-intro-edition/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ar/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/secondary · OEM · Aug 12, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/files/cs/v3/assets/blt84e01a6904dbd2e8/blt92f497e4a5ec38aa/66d1e4555458e5604aac1412/cennik-volvo-ec40-my25-23w47--1204v10.pdf?branch=prod_aliassecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/us/support/car/ec40/25w46/article/0ed816eed33d98cac0a8cc377bc12bc7-83c0c849d91ad5fac0a8cc3751bbe62b-8664b2fa77a7e089c0a8296870d1a409/secondary · review · Nov 4, 2026
- https://www.volvocars.com/ro/cars/ec40-electric/specifications/secondary · review · Sep 20, 2026
How to read the marks
- confirmed on its source page
- not verified yet
Every figure opens its source and date from its mark. Conflicting figures are shown, never averaged; an empty cell means nothing was found, not zero. Prices are listed as published, never converted between currencies.
Copy this data
Where next
Compare two models
Side by side, every figure with its source










