BYD Seal U
Version: Comfortchecked
- Electric car
- SUV
- in production
- Release 2024
€34,080
Market (new)
261 mi
WLTP range
38/100
ScoreWhat is this car?
The BYD Seal U is a 5-seat electric SUV rated 261 mi WLTP for the Comfort that charges 10-80 % in about 42 min for the Comfort and is listed at €34,080 Market (new) for the Comfort.
- Battery
- 71.8 kWh
- DC peak
- 115 kW
- Power
- 160 kW
- 0–62 mph (0–100 km/h)
- 9.3 s
- Drive
- FWD
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 15 cu ft
- Battery warranty
- 8 years · 200,000 km
A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
How much does it cost?
Starts at 30,990 Currency not stated MSRP for the Seal U Comfort; the Design is 45,790 Currency not stated.
No US listing yet - the source names no market for these prices.
Market not stated · Currency not stated
from30,990 Currency not stated
Seal U ComfortMSRP
| Trim | MSRPvs lowest | vs lowest |
|---|---|---|
| Seal U Comfortlowest | 30,990 Currency not stated | |
| Comfort | 42,290 Currency not stated+11,300 Currency not stated | +11,300 Currency not stated |
| Design | 45,790 Currency not stated+14,800 Currency not stated | +14,800 Currency not stated |
Older listings may have changed since the date shown.
Where it is registered
- In the manufacturer's own catalogue for
- European Union
Dealer, market and older prices (16)
Market (new) (4)from 34,080 Currency not stated
| Trim | Market (new)vs lowest | vs lowest |
|---|---|---|
| Comfortlowest | 34,080 Currency not stated | |
| Design | 37,580 Currency not stated+3,500 Currency not stated | +3,500 Currency not stated |
| Seal U Comfort | 42,990 Currency not stated+8,910 Currency not stated | +8,910 Currency not stated |
| Seal U Design | 46,490 Currency not stated+12,410 Currency not stated | +12,410 Currency not stated |
Other listings (12)
- Comfort · MSRP · · may have changed since195,900 Currency not stated
- Design · MSRP · · may have changed since215,900 Currency not stated
- Comfort · Market (new) · · may have changed since34,080 Currency not stated
- Design · Market (new) · · may have changed since37,580 Currency not stated
- Comfort · MSRP · · may have changed since42,290 Currency not stated
- Design · MSRP · · may have changed since45,790 Currency not stated
- Comfort · Market (new) · · may have changed since34,080 Currency not stated
- Design · Market (new) · · may have changed since37,580 Currency not stated
- Comfort · MSRP · · may have changed since42,290 Currency not stated
- Seal U Comfort · Market (new) · · may have changed since42,990 Currency not stated
- Design · MSRP · · may have changed since45,790 Currency not stated
- Seal U Design · Market (new) · · may have changed since46,490 Currency not stated
Other markets (1)
Market not stated · EUR€34,080 - €45,7904
Latest:
- Comfort · Market (new) · · may have changed since€34,080
- Design · Market (new) · · may have changed since€37,580
- Comfort · MSRP · · may have changed since€42,290
- Design · MSRP · · may have changed since€45,790
Who is it for?
Ranking
provisional: Everyday, Long range, Family
- 38#215 of 281 worldwide
- Long range#221 of 281 worldwide31#221 of 281 worldwide
- Family#201 of 281 worldwide51#201 of 281 worldwide
All rankings (4)
- Performance#213 of 254 worldwide27#213 of 254 worldwide
Take it if
- you want a power socket from the car - it supports vehicle-to-load (V2L) (not verified)
- you drive in the cold - a heat pump is standard
Look elsewhere if
- charging matters most to you - its weakest category
- you want a performance car
What the score is made of
provisional
Everyday score: 3 of 3 categories.
What is the real range?
261 mi on the official WLTP test.
261 mi
No winter figure yet
Winter
- Heat pump
- standard
How long does it take to charge?
42 min
10-80 % fast charge
- DC peak power
- 115 kW
- Onboard AC charger
- 11 kW
- Charge time (240 V)
- 7.5 h
- Charging port
- CCS2
- Voltage architecture
- 512 V
- Power out to devices (V2L)
- 3.3 kW
What does it cost to run?
~$5.44 (our estimate)
Per 100 mi at home
at $0.17/kWh, as of Jun 2026 - your price may differ
- Energy use (published)
- 32 kWh/100 mi
What to compare it with?
Same body type, price within 60 %, nearest in the Everyday ranking.
Compared with rivals
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AI- Price from
- €34,080
- Range
- 261 mi
- 10-80 %
- 42 min
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIPhoto author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIXPeng G6Score80- Price from
- €50,990+€16,910
- Range
- 342 mi +81 mi
- 10-80 %
- 20 min
- Score
- 80
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AIBMW iX1Score66- Price from
- €38,932+€4,852
- Range
- no data
- 10-80 %
- no data
- Score
- 66
Photo author and licence
© SuliHuli · Created with AISmart #3Score44- Price from
- €54,490+€20,410
- Range
- 258 mi −3 mi
- 10-80 %
- 30 min
- Score
- 44
Which versions are there?
Versions known 2Complete set Not confirmed - more may exist
About this list
- provisional: we know the version exists, its full specification is not sourced yet - listed, not dropped
not verified yet
| Version | Drive | Range | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| Comfortnamed versionprovisional | FWD | 261miWLTP | 160kW |
| Designprovisional | FWD | 311miWLTP | 160kW |
Full specs
Version on this page: “Comfort”. A figure with a version name beside it belongs to that version, not to the one this page names.
Model and powertrain
- Powertrain
- Electric (BEV)
- Body
- SUV
- Drive
- FWD
Range, battery and efficiency
- 261 mi
- Range (city)
- 358 mi WLTP
- Battery (gross)
- 71.8 kWh
- Chemistry
- LFP
- Efficiency
- 32 kWh/100 mi WLTP
- Efficiency (city)
- 23.3 kWh/100 mi WLTP
- Efficiency (real)
- 31.9 kWh/100 mi
Charging and energy features
- DC charging peak
- 115 kW
- Charge 10–80%
- 42 min
- Charge port
- CCS2
- Charge time (240 V)
- 7.5 h
- Voltage architecture
- 512 V
- Heat pump
- Standard
- V2L
- Available
- Power out to devices (V2L)
- 3.3 kW
- AC charging peak
- 11 kW
Performance
- Power (kW)
- 160 kW
- Top speed
- 109 mph
- Torque
- 229 lb-ft (310 Nm)
- 0–62 mph
- 9.3 s
Dimensions and practicality
- Seats
- 5
- Trunk
- 15 cu ft
- Ground clearance
- 6.9 in
- Length
- 188.4 in
- Width
- 74.4 in
- Height
- 65.7 in
- Wheelbase
- 108.9 in
- Weight
- 4,453 lb
Comfort and connectivity
- Heated seats
- Available
- Heated steering wheel
- Standard
- Apple CarPlay
- Standard
- Android Auto
- Standard
Safety and warranty
- Airbags
- 6
- Crash-test stars (NCAP safety rating)
- 5
- Battery warranty (years)
- 8 years
- Battery warranty (distance)
- 200,000 km
Not found yet (5)
| Field | Why | Searched |
|---|---|---|
| Charge 10–80% (real) | not tested | Sep 29, 2026 |
| Charging peak (real) | not tested | Sep 29, 2026 |
| Frunk | the car does not have it | Sep 18, 2026 |
| Range (real) | not tested | Sep 29, 2026 |
| Range (winter) | not tested | Sep 29, 2026 |
Can I trust these numbers?
We check the ten ranking inputs against a second source. On disagreement both values stay; "one source" means no second was found.
How the 10 inputs were checked
- Crosschecked
- 5
- Discrepancy
- 4
- One source
- 1
Official range
Battery (gross)
0–62 mph (0–100 km/h)
Efficiency
See the 10 checks
All inputs searched Sep 18, 2026 unless a row says otherwise.
Where does this data come from?
Last verified
2 primary sources
9 sources · one row per site
- byd.com10 recordsOEM, review · primarySep 18, 2026
- media.byd.com1 recordOEM · primaryAug 11, 2026
and 7 more
- adac.de1 recordreview · secondaryOct 23, 2026
- byd.lt1 recordreview · secondarySep 20, 2026
- gas-junky.at1 recordreview · secondarySep 18, 2026
- parkers.co.uk1 recordreview · secondaryJun 17, 2026
- topgear.com1 recordreview · secondaryJun 17, 2026
- citywestcountry.co.uk1 recordaggregator · tertiaryMay 16, 2026
- en.wikipedia.org1 recordaggregator · tertiaryJun 17, 2026
Every source link (18)
- https://www.byd.com/eu/electric-cars/seal-u.htmlprimary · OEM · Aug 11, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/material/byd-site/pl/campaign/1502/Seal%20U-0226-BPS-PL-V1.pdfprimary · OEM · Aug 11, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/eu/car/seal-uprimary · OEM · Jun 17, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/material/byd-site/eu/pdfs/seal-u/Seal%20U-0225-BPS-EN-V5.pdfprimary · OEM · Aug 8, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/eu/hybrid-cars/seal-u-dm-iprimary · OEM · May 16, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/es-es/news-list/nuevo-byd-seal-u-un-suv-familiar-100-electrico-practico-espacioso-comodo-y-respetuoso-con-el-medio-ambienteprimary · OEM · Aug 8, 2026
- https://media.byd.com/byd-expands-european-portfolio-with-new-byd-seal-u-practical-spacious-comfortable-family-oriented-and-eco-conscious-electric-suv/?lang=engprimary · OEM · Aug 11, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/content/dam/byd-site/hr/pdfs/seal-u/BYD_SEAL_U-0524-BPS-EN-V4-web.pdfprimary · OEM · Aug 8, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/content/dam/byd-site/hu/pdfs/seal-u/BYD_SEAL_U_Leaflet_300724.pdfprimary · OEM · Aug 11, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/de/konfiguration/seal-uprimary · OEM · Aug 10, 2026
- https://www.byd.com/material/byd-site/nl/pdfs/pricelist_jan_2026/ev/Prijslijst%20BYD%20SEAL%20U%20EV%20per%2001-01-2026.pdfsecondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.gas-junky.at/2024/10/04/byd-seal-u-im-praxistest-the-right-seal-for-u/secondary · review · Sep 18, 2026
- https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/byd/seal-usecondary · review · Jun 17, 2026
- https://www.byd.lt/media/4rhlhtgq/seal-u.pdfsecondary · review · Sep 20, 2026
- https://www.parkers.co.uk/byd/seal-u/review/secondary · review · Jun 17, 2026
- https://www.adac.de/rund-ums-fahrzeug/autokatalog/marken-modelle/byd/seal-u/1generation/329431/secondary · review · Oct 23, 2026
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BYD_Song_Plustertiary · aggregator · Jun 17, 2026
- https://citywestcountry.co.uk/byd-seal-u-dm-i-charging-guide/tertiary · aggregator · May 16, 2026
How to read the marks
- confirmed on its source page
- not verified yet
Every figure opens its source and date from its mark. Conflicting figures are shown, never averaged; an empty cell means nothing was found, not zero. Prices are listed as published, never converted between currencies.
Copy this data
Where next
Compare two models
Side by side, every figure with its source







